2018 brings new laws to change your work environment. Governor Brown has signed a number of new laws which improve the workspace and provide employees with rights that effect both wages, safety and benefits. Here are a few that standout.
- Job Leave:
Senate Bill 63 expands protections to take time off from work. Workers at small businesses with 20 and 49 workers are now guaranteed up to 12 weeks of unpaid parental leave within the first year of their child’s birth, adoption or foster care placement.
- Minimum Wage:
Under legislation passed in 2016, California’s minimum wage for employees with businesses with 26 or more employees to was raised to $11 per hour. Under the law, California’s minimum wage will keep rising by $1 per hour until it reaches $15 per hour by 2022.
- Salary History:
Under Assembly Bill 168, California employers no longer can ask a job applicant to reveal their past or present salary, compensation or benefits. And if an applicant asks, the employer must provide a pay range for the open position.
- Parental Leave:
Assembly Bill 908 boosts state compensation for workers taking paid leave to temporarily care for family members, to 60 percent of their regular wages from 55 percent.
- Harassment Prevention Training Topics:
Senate Bill 396 mandates supervisor harassment training every two years for employers with 50 or more employees which must now include a discussion of harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation.
Strick Injury Law and Mediation represents people throughout the Bay Area for employment-related claims. Please call our employment attorneys if you believe we can be of any assistance to you.